We Shall Be Together in Paradise and then Nuevo Paraiso (Hello Irony)

The title to this post is taken from a mission title or chapter in Red Dead Redemption and so begins my chronicling of my game play. I’ve finished almost all the side missions and chapters up to this point. There is an excellent walkthrough of every chapter at Red Dead Wiki. I am starting my “Let’s Play” posts now because I have become deadly serious about finishing two chapters and the introduction to my book this summer. Actually, I really hoped to have the manuscript completed, but I received funding for another project and so my summer is quite action-packed, to say the least.

I have one chapter completed so far (click here to read an overview), and it mainly covers the happenings in New Austin, a fantasy state in the game’s universe (or is it a “state of fantasy”?).  I am convinced that this game most certainly does create a state of fantasy for the player in which he or she (mainly he, I suspect) can once again occupy privileged status as a white American male on the frontier in 1911.  More on this date in history in later posts…

This particular Let’s Play is not simply an enthusiastic review (or trashing) of the game, as a good many Let’s Play segments are. Rather, I will be hashing out ideas about the game in order to think through my book. I guess these posts are like an academic version of the “Let’s Play” genre.

The particular chapter I recently played is ultra-violent. I float down a river, I think it’s an avatar for the Rio Grande and the landscape in the game supports my claim. The point is to shoot the enemies of Irish, so named because he comes from Ireland. Here’s a surprise: he is a whiskey drinking rake and cheater.

Errr…this looks like the Rio Grande
to me….
1899 Rio Grande, according to Wikipedia

Irish is a reprehensible single note character, but what I found really disturbing about this particular chapter (they are chapters that  move you through the narrative line) is the necessity to turn the U.S. – Mexico border into a bloodbath, or maybe that representation is not surprising in the least. More on Nuevo Paraiso in later posts. In the next installation of this academic Let’s Play, I will discuss good ol’ Landon Ricketts, a down and out gunslinger and self-proclaimed “low-rent messiah.”

Probably the most stereotypical character in the RDR narrative
Leave a Reply

